What is the best workout for upper body muscle gain?

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests
Post new topic Reply to topic   Board index » Related Areas & Misc » Health & Fitness

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 3:17 pm 
Member of MPUA Forum

I am a novice, I go the gym several times a week and go till my arms are out of energy but I am a novice and don't really have the knowledge.

So for increasing upper body muscle mass, what are the best workouts and machines to use?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 3:29 pm 
PUA Forum Leader

Eat a ton, lift heavy weight (weight you can only do around 6 reps of, for example) and get good sleep. The rest is details. I like barbell bench press and lat pull downs (well actually dumbbell rows but for novice I prefer lat pull downs) as the two most important exercises for novice upper body, followed by a form of shoulder press and then bicep curls and tricep exercises (extensions or skullcrushers). Don't get too bogged down with what exercises/what routine etc. though, focus on the first sentence I said: Eat a ton, lift heavy weight, and sleep.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2013 1:56 am 
New to MPUA Forum

I would highly suggest not training a specific part of your body. Please train your entire body.

Additionally, it takes your body/muscle time to recover. On average three days. Maybe change your training to:

Day 1
Legs
Triceps
Abs

Day 2
Shoulders
Back (upper and lower)
Under arms/grip

Day 3
Biceps
Chest
Abs

Day 4
Rest

Day 5
Legs
Triceps
Abs

Day 6
Shoulders
Back (upper and lower)
Under arms/grip

Day 7
Biceps
Chest
Abs

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:02 am 
The Coach

Quote: